Webinar: Care Extractivism- 29 November ’21 (Monday)/ 2:30 PM UTC

An online event on “Care Extractivism”, examining the global crisis of care and poor working conditions for nurses, CHWs, and auxiliary health care workers around the world is being organised by Equitable Health Systems thematic circle of People’s Health Movement and Global Health Justice Partnership (Yale Law School).  A paper based on this theme written earlier in September ’21,  titled “A Political Economy Analysis of the Impact of Covid-19 Pandemic on Health Workers: Making power and gender visible in the work of providing care” can be found here.

The event will take place via Zoom on Monday, November 29, 2021, 2:30 PM UTC/ 3:30PM Central European Time/ 9:30 AM Eastern Standard Time/8PM Delhi.

Description

How does the global political economy affect health care workers and how do neoliberal austerity measures increasingly subjugate nurses, CHWS, and auxiliary health workers to the lowest rung of the occupational hierarchy? This panel will discuss why workers in these categories face greater occupational risks and more precarious working conditions and the fiscal policies that got us here.

Panelists:

Dr. Christina Colclough, The Why Not Lab

Pedro Zayas, New England Health Care Employees Union (1199NE-SEIU)

A R Sindhu, Centre of Indian Trade Unions (CITU)/All India Federation of Anganwadi Workers and Helpers

Dr. Lauren Paremoer, University of Cape Town/People’s Health Movement, South Africa

Moderator:

Prof. Jennfier Klein, Yale Department of History

 

We hope to see you there

 

Regards

PHM – Equitable Health Systems Thematic Circle