Join conversations on “Pandemics & Public health: Learnings from the Past & Present”-30th March 2021

Please join Sama Resource Group for Women & Health along with the Gender, Justice & Health Thematic Group of People’s Health Movement (PHM) , in this conversation on “Pandemics & Public health: Learnings from the Past & Present”.

The  conversations will deliberate on:

-Our learnings from the past pandemics and the recent global outbreaks in terms of global governance; Were past experiences similar or different from the current COVID 19 context?

-How have pandemics shaped the economic, social,  environmental, geo political, and technological aspects our lives?

Date: 30th March 2021

Time: 4:00 PM – 6:00 PM IST | 10:30AM – 12:30PM GMT | 6.30AM – 8.30AM EDT

The conversations will be with:

Dr. Prashant Kidambi is a historian based at the Centre for Urban History, University of Leicester. His book ‘The Making of an Indian Metropolis: Colonial Governance and Public Culture in Bombay, 1890-1920’, highlights the impact of the plague pandemic on colonial Bombay.

Dr. Carlo Caduff is the author of ‘The Pandemic Perhaps: Dramatic Events in a Public Culture of Danger’. He is a Reader in the Department of Global Health & Social Medicine at King’s College, London. His research concerns include questions of global health & disease, science & technology, ethics & morality.

Facilitators:

Dr. Rama Baru is a Professor at the Centre for Social Medicine and Community Health at the Jawaharlal Nehru University.

Dr. Aditya Bharadwaj is a Professor of Anthropology & Sociology at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, Geneva.

Please register in advance using the following link: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_5a1Q80t-QFuGP1-Wf4ADcw

More details- http://www.samawomenshealth.in/webinar-pandemics-and-public-health/